How to upgrade Blender while retaining your settings

In this episode I’ll show you how to upgrade to a new version of Blender and copy your settings from a previous version.

Blender is a bit “special” in that it does not automatically overwrite an existing version, instead it installs the new version alongside the old version. The idea is that if the new version doesn’t work for you, you can always use the older version. I wish every piece of software would be this considerate!

However, the new version of Blender is installed with default settings and does not include any customisations that you have made. In this video I’ll show you how to bring your settings over to a new version of Blender.

Catch this episode on my 3D Podcast:

Add your voice